The Alchemists of Kush

Two Sudanese "lost boys." Both fathers murdered during civil war. Both mothers forced into exile through lands where the only law was violence.

To survive, they became ruthless loners and child soldiers, before finding mystic mentors who transformed them to create their destinies. One, known to the streets as the Supreme Raptor.... The other, known to the Greeks as Horus, son of Osiris. Separated by seven thousand years, and connected by immortal truth.

Both born in fire. Both baptised in blood. Both brutalised by the wicked. Both sworn to transform the world, and themselves, by the power... of Alchemy.

BUY THE PAPERBACK OR EBOOK

The Coyote Kings

Finalist:

  • The Philip K. Dick Award
  • The Locus Best First Novel Award
  • The Compton-Crook Award

A top-ten book of 2004:

  • January Magazine, fiction
  • Barnes & Noble, SF&F
  • Amazon.com, SF&F
  • SF Site, SF&F, Editor's Choice

A Locus Notable Book

 

Sherem is brilliant.She's Ethiopian. She's travelled the world. She speaks a dozen ancient and modern languages, including Fan-Girl. And she can use--or improvise--a hundred weapons from around the globe or of her own design. Quite the list of accomplishments for a 25 year old.Or is that 2500?

When best friend/roomies Hamza and Yehat, two Gen-X brainiacs too smart for their own good, meet Sherem during the heat of summer, they take one look at her and expect sparks to fly.They just don't expect them to come from the edges of blades.

Minister Faust's first foray into astonishing adventure, pop culture craziness and Africentric awe, The Coyote Kings, Book One: Space-Age Bachelor Pad is already a cult classic that had readers, critics and even Hollywood fluttering with excitement.

BUY THE PAPERBACK OR EBOOK

Shrinking the Heroes

Winner:

Carl Brandon Society Kindred Award

Special Citation (Runner-Up):

Philip K. Dick Prize

The award-winning political satire (originally published as From the Notebooks of Doctor Brain), Shrinking the Heroes is a hilarious, outrageous, gonzo take on the Bush Administration, confirming Minister Faust as one of the finest novelists of his generation.

Shrinking the Heroes contains the book-within-a-book, Unmasked: When Being a Superhero Can't Save You From Yourself!, a self-help book for superheroes recounting the group therapy of six of the worst and most powerful super-employees of the Fantastic Order Of Justice (the F*O*O*J).

Superbly caricaturing a range of DC and Marvel superhero conventions, while taking expert aim at the idiocy, shallowness, hypocrisy and viciousness of the celebrity industry, the cult of therapy, and the imperial US presidency, Shrinking the Heroes will make you laugh, cry… and yell.

BUY THE PAPERBACK OR EBOOK

 

War & Mir, Vol. I: Ascension

Taharqa “Harq” Douglass assumes that his best friend Thagó is nothing more than a muckle-mouthed immigrant doctor from Sudan (or is it Somalia? or Yemen?). But when high-tech terrorists blast into Thagó’s office, Harq accidentally discovers his friend is half James Bond and half Bruce Lee, and that he himself possesses a miraculous ability: chronosis—the power to behold the future. With Thagó as his protector, Harq must use his startling power to rescue a beautiful, brilliant diplomat in order to stop a war that could claim millions of lives… and the only path to survival lies through the doomed Soviet space station, Mir.

BUY THE PAPERBACK OR EBOOK

 

War & Mir, Vol.II: The Darkold

After the chaos in Naayt, Harq and Ti-Joto are forced into the dangers of Shr-Koioon, a savage land where the only laws are greed and violence. While fighting against cruel and vindictive new enemies, Harq and his young charge face new obstacles and new breakthroughs along their path to becoming chronostics. And while Kaiabreen gears up for a devastating war, Thagó and MarAset engage a top-secret mission that will tear the four of them away from Qorodis and into the terrors of the Darkold. If they succeed, they will transform civilisation itself. But if they fail… will they destroy it?

BUY THE PAPERBACK OR EBOOK

 

E-Force: Sixteen Stories of Ultra-Freaking Awesomeness

For fans of Walter Mosley, Nalo Hopkinson, Philip K. Dick, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Tananarive Due, and William S. Burroughs, comes E-Force: Sixteen Stories of Pure Freaking Awesomeness, including a companion story to Minister Faust’s acclaimed novel The Alchemists of Kush.

E-Force is the definitive short fiction collection by Minister Faust, an author increasingly described as one of the best writers of his generation, and presents sixteen wide-ranging stories, including the hilarious, the terrifying, the mystical and the compassionate. Behold anti-colonial liberation struggle at the cosmic level ("The Sun Dogs"), philosophical explorations of the nature of organic and artificial intelligence ("Droplets of Thought"), the hypocrisy that afflicts human communities ("Shecky the Green Pig"), a revisionist take on D.W. Griffith’s Birth of a Nation (“The Worth of a Nation”), and a Grendel-style psychohistory of ancient Egypt’s founding myth (“The Belly of the Crocodile,” a companion story to Minister Faust’s novel The Alchemists of Kush), among many others.

E-Force is an astonishing journey by a visionary author.

BUY THE PAPERBACK OR EBOOK